Blog 7 of Lent: Being Born Again

Published February 27, 2016 by thinkinbout

12440414_950655581697270_3092894446235537920_o

As I sometimes do, I am again blogging someone else’s words. Unfortunately I cannot give credit where credit is due because I emailed this to myself 8 years ago and neglected to copy and paste the name of the author.

“To be Born Again is not an exclusive “New Testament” Message, this was already been revealed by YaHWeH in the “Old Testament” (Tanakh in Hebrew).

To understand this better let us refer how John (Yochanan in Hebrew) narrates the discussion between Yeshua HaMashiach and Nicodemus regarding how a man can enter the Kingdom of YaHWeH .

John 3:3-7: “…Yeshua answered, Amein, amein, I say to you, Unless a man is born of water and the SPIRIT, he cannot enter into the kingdom of Elohim . That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is BORN OF THE SPIRIT is SPIRIT. Do not marvel that I said to you, YOU MUST BE BORN AGAIN. The SPIRIT breathes where He desires, and you hear His voice, but you do not know from where He comes, and where He goes; so is everyone who is BORN OF THE SPIRIT.Nicodemus answered and said to Him, How can these things be?”

Notice how our Messiah replied to Nicodemus in John 3:10 “Yeshua answered and said to him, ARE YOU THE TEACHER OF YISRAEL AND DO NOT KNOW THESE THINGS?” As a teacher of Israel , Nicodemus should have recognized what the Messiah meant about how one is to be born again, for this is what the Prophets have written long ago in the Tanakh (Old Testament)

We are Born of the Spirit when YaHWeH gives us a NEW HEART and a NEW SPIRIT. “And I will give them one HEART, and I will put a NEW SPIRIT within you. And I will remove the stony HEART out of their flesh, and will give them a HEART of flesh, so that they may walk in My statutes and keep My ordinances (TORAH, Word of YaHWeH), and do them. And they shall be My people, and I will be their Elohim.” Ezekiel 11:19-20

Deuteronomy 30:6 “Moreover YaHWeH your Elohim will circumcise your HEART and the HEART of your descendants, to love YaHWeH your Elohim with all your HEART and with all your Soul, SO THAT YOU MAY LIVE.” Circumcision is a covenant. In the Hebraic culture, to be in covenant means to have a relationship and agreement. YaHWeH desires to have a relationship with us – He desires to Circumcise our Hearts, and with this Covenant Relationship we gain LIFE.

Through this Covenant Relationship we shall know YaHWeH and His Word: “Behold, the days come, says YaHWeH, that I will cut a NEW COVENANT with the house of Yisrael, and with the house of Judah, not according to the covenant that I cut with their fathers in the day I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt; which covenant of Mine they broke, although I was a husband to them, says YaHWeH; but this shall be the covenant that I will cut with the house of Yisrael: After those days, says YaHWeH, I WILL PUT MY TORAH (WORD OF YAHWEH) IN THEIR INWARD PARTS, AND WRITE IT IN THEIR HEARTS; and I will be their Elohim, and they shall be My people. And they shall no more teach each man his neighbor and each man his brother, saying, Know YaHWeH; FOR THEY SHALL ALL KNOW ME, from the least of them to the greatest of them, says YaHWeH. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sins no more.” Jeremiah 31:31-34

Furthermore, having faith in the Word of YaHWeH is part of this Covenant Relationship as Prophet Jeremiah wrote, and according to David, the Word of Elohim converts a person, “The TORAH/Law of YaHWeH is perfect, converting the soul; the testimony of YaHWeH is sure, making the simple wise.” Psalm 19:7

Rabbi Cephas (Apostle Peter) concurs: “having been BORN AGAIN, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, through the living WORD OF YAHWEH ELOHIM, and abiding forever.” 1Peter 1:23

And so to conclude, the Message of being Born Again is as old as the Tanakh (Old Testament), it is not an exclusive “New Testament” Message.”

Leave a Reply

