Unfulfilled

Published November 17, 2012 by thinkinbout

I don’t know what I was made for. I don’t know what my purpose in life is. I’m afraid of dying before I ever feel fulfilled in this life, but I just don’t know what it is that will fulfill me. I’m sick of living with this every single day. I hate not knowing what I should strive for. I have lived with this agonizing feeling for almost 10 years and it shows no sign of dissipating. Everything I do just leaves me feeling even more empty. I thought travel is what would fulfill me, and so I’ve done a ton of it. But I always feel like there’s more out there that I’m missing. I thought volunteering would fulfill me too, but that always leaves me feeling disappointed and let down. These are my temporary highs, but I always feel worse. UGH, what to do…….

2 comments on “Unfulfilled

  • I have struggled with a lot of this (though certainly being a good mother is now one of my most important life tasks), but it helps me some to realize I’m not meant to be entirely fulifilled in this life. I’m meant to be faithtful. I still struggle to find the thing I ampassionate about that I can explore on a daily basis (for instance, I wish I was in a band making beautiful music, or exploring some literary/historical mystery, or had a story to tell in novel form), but those two things help. I’m trying to be faithful in my life’s roles and remembering that someday I will achieve ultimate fulfillment even if I never find that wonderful somethingto passionately explore and bring me daily fulfillment.

  • Leave a Reply

