Extremism Part 2

Published May 13, 2012 by thinkinbout

(Continued from Part 1)

At first glance, Tim McVeigh looks like Ed Norton. Or perhaps more like Eminem with his cold stare. Maybe a mix of the two. He’s a nice looking fellow, someone you could shoot the breeze with. When you see pictures of him smiling he just looks so darn nice. But it’s when he opens his mouth that you get to know the real man behind that young face. He’s just plain unrepentant, and any and all feelings other than disgust flee instantly when you hear his words: “The only way they (federal government) are gonna feel something…is…with a body count.”  Ok, so you’re paranoid that the federal government will take away your gun rights, that you’ll have to live in the wilderness and fend for yourself, and the only way to get the message across from your paranoia is by blowing up a building and killing as many people as possible. Nope, don’t understand it. Like the title of this blog, this is extreme, he’s an extremist.  (He reminds me of certain other terrorists too)

Throughout McVeigh’s confession, there are justifications galore. “A shrink would conclude, I’m not sure if they use the word psychopath or sociopath, and that is they have no respect for human life. Far from that, I have great respect.” (Clearly) “But I also realize my nature as a human being, that humans kill.” Most humans don’t. Why? Because we know it’s wrong. Animals kill. People are more intelligent and therefore usually abide by a certain moral code which animals do not possess. Timmy boy, however, doesn’t think it’s wrong as long as he gets his diluted point across. As stated above, he reminds me of certain other terrorists.

The morning of the bombing, McVeigh gets into his rented Ryder Truck and heads for the Murrah building. He sits at a traffic light near the building wating for it to turn green and lights the 2 minute fuse.”You can see the ridiculous nature of somebody calling me a coward with a 7,000 lb bomb fuse burning behind my back. I lit the 2 minute fuse at the stoplight and I swear to God it was the longest stoplight I ever sat in in my life.” And he laughs heartily, inviting the interviewer to laugh along (which he doesn’t). He sure was desperate for himself to get out of the way, but the lives of those in the building? Not so much. God forbid the bomber dies in his own plot to kill as many others as possible! Self preservation is probably the strongest instinct of all, but terrorists are ultra willing to sacrifice the lives of others. I can’t even fathom how dead someone must be inside to act this way and feel no remorse afterwords. Yes, I would call that a sociopath. Someone who commits evil, knows it’s wrong, and doesn’t care.

He pulls in front of the building, gets out of the truck and walks across the street. “The mission was accomplished, I knew it was accomplished, and it was over.”

Yep, it sure was for the 168 people in the building and other bystanders. It also killed 19 children in a daycare on the premesis (or close by, for some reason the accounts I’ve read differ on that). I’m sure, if you’re old enough for this to have affected you, you’ll remember that gut wrenching photo of a fireman carrying the dying body of a precious toddler, bloodied and dirty from the blast. Looking at that picture while I write this still makes me cry, and I’ve seen it plenty.

Her name was Baylee Almon, one year and one day old when she died. No one should have to die this way, especially a child. God bless that firefighter who brought her out of the rubble.

The blast destroyed or damaged over 300 buildings over 16 city blocks.

Again, McVeigh justified his actions: “Death and loss are an integral part of life everywhere. These people in Oklahoma that lost loved ones, I’m sorry, but you know what? We have to accept it and move on.” We? WE?! Like he was a victim?! He’s unbelievable.

Thankfully, McVeigh was caught very quickly after the bombing, and on a totally unrelated issue: his getaway car had no back license plate. He claimed it was on purpose. It must be since he was very detail oriented. But! Why? Did he want to get caught? I’m inclined to believe so since he was so self involved that he probably wanted to be recognized for his “handiwork.”  “So, even if I wouldn’t have been apprehended…I would still have gained the benefit automatically of being identified. I had already made sure that was in place. There was a no-lose situation.” Yeah, self absorbed to the max.

While rotting in jail, he sees news footage of the bomb. His first reaction? “Damn, I didn’t take the whole building down.” However, he kept his dirty little secret to himself. Law enforcement realized it was him after the rear axle from the truck was found with an ID number which they traced to Mcveigh 2 days later.

Nearly 700 people were injured. One sweet woman, Patti Hall, suffered 40-yes 40-broken bones. I had 2 broken bones once and THAT was torture. Poor, sweet, grandmotherly Patti endured 40 broekn bones-at the same time. Janie Coverdale lost her two grandsons. Looking at the pictures of those sweet boys of course brought tears to my eyes. And I felt so sad inside when she said, on the MSNBC special, “Aaron wold be 20 years old now; Elijah would be 17.” Precious lives cut short.  I can’t imagine Janie’s pain. McVeigh’s response to the victims? “I”ve heard your story many times before. The specific details may be unique, but the truth is, you’re not the first mother to lose a kid, you’re not the first grandparent to lose a grand[child]…get over it.”  But the thing is, they didn’t have to lose them that day. This evil person made an evil choice which affected hundreds of lives. Those people weren’t “lost,” he CHOSE to MURDER them!!!!!! He’s sickeningly detached.

Timothy McVeigh is long gone now. He would have turned 44 three weeks ago. Looking at news footage of him, or seeing him smile with his attornies, he looks like someone I could feel sorry for. Sure, he murdered a bunch of people, but maybe he was lost little boy. But once I heard his voice on those tapes, any inkling of sympathy was immediately washed away. He was unrepentant to the end, even quoting a poem of extreme defiance (the poem, however, was written in the 19th century, and has nothing to do with terrorism until McVeigh twisted it), which ends “It matters not how straight the gate, how charged with punishments the scroll, I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul.” Yep, until the end he remained contemptuously defiant.

Leave a Reply

